Celebrating 75 Years of Discovery

Palomar Science Meeting 2018

08 – 11 July 2018

Palomar Observatory and Cahill Center for Astronomy & Astrophysics, Caltech

Hale Telescope dome composite: a pastel by R.W. Porter, a b&w photograph, and a contemporary digital image. (Palomar/Caltech)

Celebrating the Observatory's 70 years of discovery, the Palomar Science Meeting 2018 (PSM2018) will be a forum for all Palomar astronomers and constituencies to share and discuss their results involving Palomar data.

The PSM2018 program is now set.

Events on the first day (08 July) will be held at Palomar, and focus on the celebrating the 70th anniversary of the Hale Telescope Dedication (03 June 1948), 70th anniversary of first light for the Samuel Oschin Telescope (24 September 1948), and the start of science operations for the Zwicky Transient Facility. The remaining three days (09 – 11 July) will be in Pasadena at the Cahill Center for Astronomy and Astrophysics, and include plenary Palomar science sessions and topical workshops of interest to the broad Palomar partnership.

PSM2018 poster, see Media page for download options. (Palomar/Caltech/A.Mejía)

PSM2018 poster, see Media page for download options. (Palomar/Caltech/A.Mejía)

In particular a focused Tuesday 10 July afternoon public session will include keynote speakers (Ronald Florence, author of “The Perfect Machine”, and Robert Kirshner of the Moore Foundation) and the Dedication of the Zwicky Transient Facility.

The PSM2018 format will include both sessions with invited and contributed talks, and display areas for poster contributions.

Registration for this meeting is closed.

PSM2018 will support live streaming and recorded video for the Pasadena (09--11 July) sessions. Please see the 'Streaming Video' link in the left navigation menu.

PSM2018 Confirmed Speakers

  • Mike Bertin – MIT
  • David Ciardi – Caltech/IPAC
  • George Djorgovski – Caltech
  • Ronald Florence – Author
  • Mansi Kasliwal – Caltech
  • Evan Kirby – Caltech
  • Davy Kirkpatrick – Caltech/IPAC
  • Robert Kirshner – Moore Foundation
  • Dimitri Mawet – Caltech
  • Sterl Phinney – Caltech
  • Meredith Powell – Yale
  • Mike Ressler – Caltech/JPL
  • Gautam Vashisht – Caltech/JPL
  • Song-Hu Wang – Yale
  • Xue-Bing Wu – Peking U
  • Lin Yan – Caltech


  • Andy Boden – Caltech
  • Marla Geha – Yale University
  • Eric Peng – Peking University/NAOC
  • Sterl Phinney – Caltech
  • Mike Ressler – Jet Propulsion Laboratory
  • Lin Yan – Caltech

Questions? We've answered many common visiting, media, and academic questions in our public FAQ page.
Please share your feedback on this page at the COO Feedback portal.

PSM2018 / v 1.0rc1
Last updated: 06 July 2018 ACM/AFB